Special Education Department

Fresno Unified School District
Special Education Department
890 S 10th Street Bldg C
Fresno CA 93702
Phone: (559) 457-3220
Fax: (559) 457-3299

Please fax your request to (559) 457-3299 or call (559) 457-3220 for assistance.

Email to Special Education Leadership Team: SPEDLeadership@fresnounified.org

Management

Dr. Tangee Pinheiro
Instructional Superintendent
Special Education
Tangee Pinheiro EmailTangee Pinheiro Phone
Sean Virnig, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Special Education-SELPA
Sean Virnig EmailSean Virnig Phone
Angela Dryden
Program Manager III

Programs, Services, Curriculum, Instructional and Professional Learning: Infant - Kindergarten

• LAIP
• MM PreK-Kinder
• Autism PK/TK/K
• PreK Inclusion






Supervision and Evaluation
• LAIP Program Manager II
• MM TSA
• Itinerant PreK Teacher
• School Psychologists



(559) 457-3282
Angela.Dryden@fresnounified.org
Email Address for Angela DrydenPhone Number for Angela Dryden
Dr. Ebony Hailey
Program Manager III

Programs, Services, Curriculum, Instructional and Professional Learning: PK-Adult

• Addicott
• Rata
• OI
• VI/OM
• DHH

• LI Committee
• OT
• PT



Supervision and Evaluation
• Principal – Addicott
• Principal – Rata
• OTs
• PTs
• ASL Interpreters
• School Psychologists

(559) 457-3256
Ebony.Hailey@fresnounified.org
Email Address for Ebony HaileyPhone Number for Ebony Hailey
Julie Wheelock
Program Manager III

Programs, Services, Curriculum, Instructional and Professional Learning: 1-12

• Mild/Moderate
• CTE


• Workability
• ESY
• District Systems


Supervision and Evaluation
• MM TSAs and ISGISs
• Regional Instructional Managers
• Office Manager
• Workability Staff
• School Psychologists

(559) 457-3273
Julie.Wheelock@fresnounified.org
Email Address for Julie WeelockPhone Number for Julie Wheelock
Kate Alvarado
Program Manager III

Programs, Services, Curriculum, Instructional and Professional Learning: PreK-Adult

• ED
• Fulton
• ERMHS
• NPS/NPA

DIS
• Speech and Language
• Adapted PE
• Special Olympics
• Unified Sports

Supervision and Evaluation
• Principal – Fulton
• Social Emotional Managers
• Department Social/Emotional Paras
• School Psychologists


(559) 457-3234
Kate.Alvarado@fresnounified.org
Email Address for Kate AlvaradoPhone Number for Kate Alvarado

Regional Instructional Managers

Amy Balmanno
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Fort Miller
Cooper
Hamilton
Wilson



(559) 457-3220
Amy.Balmanno@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Amy BalmannoPhone Number for Amy Balmanno
Brittany Johns
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Fresno High
Homan
Muir




(559) 457-3224
Brittany.Johns@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Brittany JohnsPhone Number for Brittany Johns
Chad Dias
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Eaton
Centennial
McCardle
Vinland
Viking
Wolters
CSUF

(559) 457-3230
Chad.Dias@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Chad DiasPhone Number for Chad Dias
Christie Gunter
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Dailey
SOUL
Fresno Adult School
Patino
Woodson
JE Young (grades 11-12)
Phoenix Elementary
Phoenix Secondary
Cambridge
Dewolf
Design Science
Fremont

(559) 457-3290
christie.gunter@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Christie GunterPhone Number for Christie Gunter
Claudina Espudo
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Figarden
Powers
Slater
Lawless

 

(559) 457-3274 Claudina.Espudo@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Claudina EspudoPhone Number for Claudina Espudo
Deanna Hoffman
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Birney
Norseman
Wishon
Ericson

(559) 457-3238
Deanna.Hoffman@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Deanna HoffmanPhone Number for Deanna Hoffman
Gavino Morales
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Tehipite
Sequoia
Calwa
Vang Pao


(559) 457-3220
gavino.morales@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Gavino MoralesPhone Number for Gavino Morales
Jennifer Silva
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Hoover
Del Mar




(559) 457-3220
Jennifer.Silva@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Jennifer SilvaPhone Number for Jennifer Silva
Kelli Flake
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Ayer
Easterby
Herrera
Olmos
Turner
Yokomi

(559) 457-3271
Kelli.Flake@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Kelli FlakePhone Number for Kelli Flake
Kim Kuphaldt
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Malloch
Kratt
Tatarian
Starr
Gibson
eLearn Elementary

(559) 457-3284
Kim.Kuphaldt@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Kim KuphaldtPhone Number for Kim Kuphaldt
Laurie Henkel
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Yosemite
Scandinavian
Ewing
Leavenworth

(559) 457-3220
Laurie.Henkel@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Laurie HenkelPhone Number for Laurie Henkel
Lori Rolff
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Sunnyside
Lane
Balderas

(559) 457-3220
Lori.Rolff@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Lori RolffPhone Number for Lori Rolff
Marissa Saldate
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Tenaya
Wawona
Bullard Talent
Baird
Heaton


(559) 457-3220
Marissa.Saldate@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Marissa SaldatePhone Number for Marissa Saldate
Michael Fletcher
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Bullard
eLearn High School
Williams




(559) 457-3283
Michael.Fletcher@fresnounified.org

Email Address forPhone Number for Special Education
Nicholas De La Cerda
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Addams
Columbia
King
Kirk
Lincoln
Sunset
Winchell

(559) 457-3244
nicholas.delacerda@fresnounified.org

Email Address forPhone Number for Special Education
Nicole Evangelinos
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Pyle
Robinson
Thomas
Holland

(559) 457-3250
Nicole.Evangelinos@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Nicole EvangelinosPhone Number for Nicole Evangelinos
Patrick Morrison
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Roosevelt
Anthony
Jefferson

(559) 457-3275
Patrick.Morrison@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Patrick MorrisonPhone Number for Patrick Morrison
Phil Mcilhargey
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
McLane
Mayfair
Hidalgo

(559) 457-3302
Phil.Mcilhargey@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Phil McilhargeyPhone Number for Phil Mcilhargey
Robyn Scroggins
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Bakman
Burroughs
Aynesworth
Greenberg
Storey
Rowell
Jackson

(559) 457-3220
Robyn.Scroggins@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Robyn ScrogginsPhone Number for Robyn Scroggins
Santana Leal
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Gaston
Computech
Manchester
Edison
Roeding
Lowell

(559) 457-3220
Santana.Leal@FresnoUnified.org

Email Address for Santana LealPhone Number for Santana Leal
Soua Thao
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Kings Canyon
Terronez
eLearn Middle School
Webster



(559) 451-4000
Soua.Thao@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Soua ThaoPhone Number for Soua Thao
Valerie Simpson
Regional Instructional Manager

School Responsibility
Ahwahnee
Tioga
eLearn Elementary
Private Schools

(559) 457-3220
Valerie.Simpson@fresnounified.org

Email Address for Valerie SimpsonPhone Number for Valerie Simpson

Regional Centers

The purpose of the SPED Regional Centers is to improve services by increasing the availability and level of support at the school sites. The Regional Centers also create strong, positive ties to students, staff, and community, help close communication gaps, provide parent support closer to home, decrease response time, decrease travel time, and increase the amount of time support staff are available to assist students, teachers, support staff, parents, and site administrators.

A list of regional centers and their contact information.
Regional CenterAddressOffice AssistantContact Number
​Special Education Office1301 M. StreetSPED Staff(559) 457-3220
Adult Transition Program2132 E. FairmontTeresa Piacentini(559) 248-7156
Lori Ann Infant Center67 E Ashlan Isabel Cisneros(559) 248-7236

Fresno Unified Board of Education

The Fresno Unified School District Board of Trustees is committed to the success of every student and every school. Together, the trustees represent nearly 74,000 students and 10,000 full-time and part-time staff. The Board of Education established a Constituent Services Office to respond to the needs of parents and community members. 

Email the Board
Call the Board Office: (559) 457-3727
Click here to take you to the Fresno Unified Board of Education Page

Back to top